Back to Directory

Regional Unit for Technical Assistance

Organization's Acronym:
Web Address:
Email Address:
Published by:

Regional Unit for Technical Assistance (RUTA) is a joint interagency and government of the seven Central American countries (Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama) and seven international development agencies (MAECIFADADAIDBFAOIFPRIIICA ) to promote sustainable development and poverty reduction in rural areas of Central America.

For over 25 years, RUTA has acted as a regional platform for sustainable rural development for the harmonization of international cooperation and coordination with governments and civil society in Central America. RUTA aims to facilitate policy dialogue, development of investment projects, knowledge sharing and cooperation in Central America.

In January 2008, RUTA began Phase VI (2008-2011) , whose priorities are to strengthen the capacities of regional public institutions, national and civil society, the alignment of the agendas of donor agencies and the sharing of knowledge.